Boycott Zogby

In my other life, outside of pouring over baseball and other sports, I am a political science geek.  I love politics, news, and current events so of course the upcoming election tomorrow, (Go out and vote!) it is one of my favorite times of the year.

Zogby, one of the biggest polls out there, has taken a shot at a fellow baseball geek and Baseball Prospectus writer Nate Silver, editor and founder of FiveThirtyEight.com, a website that uses Nate’s Baseball Prospectus model to project the presidential election using weighted polling data.

Andrew Sullivan of The Atlantic, who’s blog has been amazing during the campaign season (and beyond), quoted Zogby’s direct shot across the bow at Nate:

“Remember, as I said yesterday, one day does not make a trend. This is a three-day rolling average and no changes have been tectonic. A special note to blogger friends: calm it down. Lay off the cable television noise and look at your baseball cards in your spare time. It is better for your (and everyone else’s) health.”

As someone who not only loves his childhood collection of baseball cards (Topps ’82-’92) and politics, I am now going to boycott Zogby polling, even though I know as a good political scientist that I should take in all information and distill it down without bias.  However, with Zogby’s quote, I feel that he is taking a shot at me as well.


Leave a Reply

