Brandon Phillips is Our Homeboy

A day after Valentines, the Reds are showing second baseman Brandon Phillips the love by signing him to a 4 year contract worth an estimated $27 million to avoid arbitration and to lockup one of the brightest stars of the Reds’ roster.

A CFT favorite, Phillips came to Cincinnati near the beginning of the 2006 after the Cleveland Indians were upset by his slow start.  Sent over for a player to be named later (Jeff Stevens), Phillips won over the hearts of Reds fans by his dynamic defense and instant offensive burst he showed in the first few weeks of being in Cincinnati. 

Known for being a sully character in the clubhouse, Brandon has shown absolutely none of the bad attitude that he was said to of had and has been smiling ever since.  We can’t remember a time that the camera has been on Phillips and he hasn’t had a huge grin on his face. 

John Fay wrote down some quotes from Brandon after the deal was done in his Reds Insider blog.

“The Reds gave me a second chance,” he said. “They opened up the door for me. The fans welcomed me with open arms. I want to make sure I give back to them. I want to do community service. I want to give back to the community. I’m going to do many things in the city. I’m going to go to certain places and try to find me a field. I want people to know who I am. I want to bring more people to the stadium. I want to be how Barry Larkin was.” 

Brandon had an awesome year last year with a 30-30 year and we hope those types of numbers can continue.  We would like to see a higher OBP (.331 last season) which would raise his value tremendously. 

We will have more on Phillips and the rest of the Reds crew in our season/spring training preview in the next few days.

One Response

  1. Brandon is definitely a great player an a great character guy… I love having him in Cincy long-term!

Leave a Reply

