If You Are Keeping Score at GABP…

You might want to bring your own scorebook because the Reds don’t want to sell you a quality scorecard at the ballpark.

Whenever I attend a ballgame, I always bring two sharpened No. 2 pencils and an extra dollar or two to purchase a scorecard.  Keeping score at games helps keep me engaged and I become less reliant on the scoreboard to tell me what a player has done during the course of the game.  It is enjoyable and a great thing to start a conversation with (i.e. Was that an error or a hit?).  I also find it interesting how different teams at different ballparks organize their scorecards.

When I recently attended the Memorial Day game versus the Astros, I was disturbed to find out that the Reds had changed their scorecard entirely from previous years.  They longer do they sell a heavy card stock tri-fold scorecard that includes both teams’ rosters and scoring instructions (I don’t use the instructions since I have devised my own set of hieroglyphics).

While they are now cheaper (fifty cents as opposed to $1), the scorecard that is now being sold at GABP is a sub-standard product.  The scorecards are printed on a flimsy piece of card stock that allows the pencil to nearly poke through when entering in the data. It is a single sheet that is double-sided (no longer tri-fold) with minimal amount of room for scoring, few boxes for stats, and it does not include either roster.  When you have to use your leg as a sort of backing in order to write, one can see that this scorecard is poorly constructed.

So far, the Pirates are selling the best scorecard around.  Sold at PNC Park, it is large, very nicely laid out, and includes a ton more columns with pre-printed stats that are needed to tell the whole story of the game.

I may have to invest in some sort of scorebook that I can bring to games in the future because I don’t think I will be buying another scorecard at GABP.  Let me know if you have any suggestions.

4 Responses

  1. I always bring my own scorebook, and I’ve filled up several of them. I bought a bunch from Amazon a couple of years ago, when I filled up the three scorebooks I had.

    I just did a quick check on Amazon, and I don’t see the same type being sold there any longer.

    At any rate, I would highly recommend getting a scorebook. Always fun to be able to look back over all the previous games at a glance.

  2. So few people actually keep score, it’s a wonder they make scorecards at all. I always bought them for souvenirs.

  3. When i attend games i have a scorebook which bought from http://www.bcscorebook.com/, it has enough for 100 games and is pretty compact, i highly recommend it.

    My friend that i go with has taken mine and modified it abit to his liking and is thinking about selling it, i have picks of it and some details, email me and i’ll see if he’s interested in selling one.

    Anthony

  4. Like Anthony, I recommend the Bob Carpenter’s scorebook too. I’ve been using one for the past two seasons.

    Sorry to hear the Reds have gone skimpy on the scorecards.

    I noticed on a trip to Busch Stadium in St. Louis that they have a small lightboard to help folks keep score. After each play it will read “6-4-3 DP” or “FC 4-6″ or “E5″…whatever. It’s really nice of you miss a play or don’t know if a play is to be scored a hit or error. I also think it encourages young fans to keep score at games, which is nice to see.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

